A new feature for April 2021!

Tired of handling customer membership cancelations? We've heard your request!

Punchpass offers the opportunity for your customers to cancel their own memberships – for each membership you offer.

  • This feature is turned off by default.

  • The membership end date will be when the current billing period ends.

  • As an Admin, you cannot choose the date a membership ends.

When to use the self-cancel option:

  • Allow customers to cancel their trial membership.

  • Eliminate administrative work of manually canceling memberships for your customers.

When you might not want to use the self-cancel feature:

  • When your cancellation policy requires customers must provide X days notice before canceling a membership.

  • If you want to choose a specific date for the membership to end.


Allow your customers to cancel their memberships

Adding the self-cancel option to an existing membership:

  • Login to your Admin account, select Manage → Passes

  • From the Active Passes & Memberships section, select the membership to edit by clicking on the title.

  • On the membership summary page, you'll see that the option for a "Customer to Self-Cancel this Membership" is off.

  • Press the Edit button to edit the Membership settings.

  • Select the option to "Allow customers to cancel this membership themselves" and press Save.

  • When you have pressed save, you'll see the setting reflected in the Membership summary screen.

Turning the self-cancel option off for a specific membership:

  • Login to your Admin account, select Manage → Passes

  • From the Active Passes & Memberships section, select the membership to edit by clicking on the title.

  • From the membership summary page, press the Edit button.

  • From the Membership details page, uncheck the Allow Customers to Self-Cancel option, and press Save.

  • The updated settings are reflected on the summary screen.



What happens when a customer wants to cancel a membership?

Here's what your customers will see when you allow them to self-cancel their memberships.

When a customer logs in and presses the My Memberships button, they'll see a pop-up with their active memberships and a link to cancel their membership.

Selecting that Cance Membership link opens then opens the cancellation confirmation screen:

  • The end date is determined by the billing period end date. This is cannot be manually set.

Pressing the Cancel Membership button confirms the cancellation. The window closes and we're back on the customer account home screen, where a message confirms the membership cancellation.

Have any questions about this new feature? Reach out and let us know!

Did this answer your question?